Water Pollution http://nwpr.org en Lab Fish Fed Plastic More Likely To Develop Tumors, Liver Problems http://nwpr.org/post/lab-fish-fed-plastic-more-likely-develop-tumors-liver-problems <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Scientists have photographed dead whales and seabirds, their stomachs filled with plastic bags and bottle caps. But those larger chunks eventually break down. In fact, the majority of plastic pollution in the ocean, by volume, comes in the form of tiny confetti-sized particles. They’re commonly found in Puget Sound. And new research shows that when fish eat particles of plastic the results aren’t good.</span></p><p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 14:35:37 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 37704 at http://nwpr.org Lab Fish Fed Plastic More Likely To Develop Tumors, Liver Problems Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants http://nwpr.org/post/clackamas-watershed-collects-drinking-water-and-pollutants <p></p><p>On a nursery in Boring, researchers are demonstrating a new high-tech pesticide sprayer for a dozen growers. Oregon State University extension entomologist Robin Rosetta explains how this so-called “smart sprayer” uses a computerized sensor to detect the shape of plants and tell the nozzles on the machine where to spray and where not to spray.</p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 14:47:49 +0000 Cassandra Profita 32538 at http://nwpr.org Clackamas Watershed Collects Drinking Water and Pollutants Oregon Takes Aggressive Approach To Water Pollution http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-takes-aggressive-approach-water-pollution <p>The Oregon Department of Agriculture is taking a more aggressive approach to stop water pollution from farms. Instead of waiting for complaints to come in from the public, the state is going to begin looking for polluters. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 14:47:35 +0000 Bonnie Stewart 23959 at http://nwpr.org Poll Finds High Awareness Of Stormwater Pollution In Northwest States http://nwpr.org/post/poll-finds-high-awareness-stormwater-pollution-northwest-states <p>Residents of the Northwest see urban stormwater runoff as a top source of water pollution, according to a poll commissioned by EarthFix. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 00:35:37 +0000 Amelia Templeton 16925 at http://nwpr.org New Pollutants: Prescription Drugs, Personal Care Products http://nwpr.org/post/new-pollutants-prescription-drugs-personal-care-products <p>Water pollution doesn't just come from industrial pipes. It can also come from your prescription drugs or antibacterial soap. As part of our series on the 40th anniversary of the Clean Water Act, Cassandra Profita reports on the everyday pollutants that are emerging in waterways across the Northwest.You can find more about prescription drugs entering Northwest waters on our website nwpr.org and (hear how unregulated toxins may be affecting fish in the Northwest.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 12:04:09 +0000 Cassandra Profita 15119 at http://nwpr.org New Pollutants: Prescription Drugs, Personal Care Products Study: Coastal Oregon Waters Slightly Caffeinated http://nwpr.org/post/study-coastal-oregon-waters-slightly-caffeinated <p>The Northwest is known for its love of coffee. Now evidence of that is showing up in the Pacific Ocean. Researchers have found low levels of caffeine at half a dozen locations on the Oregon Coast. Mon, 23 Jul 2012 23:37:54 +0000 Tom Banse 12124 at http://nwpr.org Study: Coastal Oregon Waters Slightly Caffeinated