Railroad http://nwpr.org en Oregon Railroad Defies State Order To Stop Work In Salmonberry River http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-railroad-defies-state-order-stop-work-salmonberry-river <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The state of Oregon has ordered a company to stop rebuilding sections of the Port of Tillamook Bay railroad because it doesn't have a state permit. T</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">he company isn't stopping and says it doesn't need a state permit.</span></p></div><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 13:26:40 +0000 Cassandra Profita 43625 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Railroad Defies State Order To Stop Work In Salmonberry River Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train http://nwpr.org/post/passengers-wait-hours-empire-builder-americas-least-reliable-train <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030614JR_WorstTrain_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The worst train in America is right here in the Northwest: the famed Empire Builder.<p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 15:30:01 +0000 Jessica Robinson 42422 at http://nwpr.org Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train Wyden and Merkley Take Railroad Companies To Task http://nwpr.org/post/wyden-and-merkley-take-railroad-companies-task <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">At a meeting with emergency responders in Portland Friday, U.S. senators Ron </span>Wyden<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and Jeff </span>Merkley<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> asked railroad companies to address growing concerns about oil train safety.</span></p><p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 15:16:39 +0000 Cassandra Profita 40547 at http://nwpr.org Wyden and Merkley Take Railroad Companies To Task Emergency Responders Prepare For Increased Risk Of Oil Spills In The Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/emergency-responders-prepare-increased-risk-oil-spills-northwest <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Northwest emergency responders met in Portland Tuesday to discuss the increased potential for oil spills in the region.</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 15:37:28 +0000 Cassandra Profita 37599 at http://nwpr.org Emergency Responders Prepare For Increased Risk Of Oil Spills In The Northwest Former Northwest Railroad Town Struggles To Keep Last 25 People http://nwpr.org/post/former-northwest-railroad-town-struggles-keep-last-25-people <p></p><p>Take a drive down any highway in the Northwest, and you'll pass signs for dozens of small towns. There are more than 700 cities under 10,000 people in Washington, Oregon and Idaho. Many of these towns came about because of railroads or timber or mines and now they’re trying to figure out what comes next. Today, we begin an occasional series on Northwest small towns. Correspondent Jessica Robinson takes us to a tiny town in north Idaho that's getting even tinier.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 13:52:31 +0000 Jessica Robinson 33859 at http://nwpr.org Former Northwest Railroad Town Struggles To Keep Last 25 People Oregon Governor’s Panel Will Explore Logging Proposals for Railroad Lands http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-governor-s-panel-will-explore-logging-proposals-railroad-lands <p>Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber has created a panel to try to end a stalemate over federal forest lands that once belonged to a corrupt railroad. Amelia Templeton explains. Fri, 12 Oct 2012 12:45:36 +0000 Amelia Templeton 16639 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Wine Industry To Get Boost From Rail Shipping Expansion http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-wine-industry-get-boost-rail-shipping-expansion <p>A company that ships Northwest produce to East Coast markets by rail plans an expansion that will benefit the region&#39;s wineries. Railex has reached an agreement with Ste. Michelle Wine Estates to build a massive wine storage warehouse in southeast Washington. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 23:13:05 +0000 Anna King 11921 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Wine Industry To Get Boost From Rail Shipping Expansion