Pacific Northwest http://nwpr.org en Which One Of These State Parks Is Not Like The Other? http://nwpr.org/post/which-one-these-state-parks-not-other <p>There’s no need to roam too far from home to have a great summer vacation. The Northwest has many beautiful state parks for you to visit. The Northwest alone is <a href="http://www.parks.wa.gov/845/Seattle-Tacoma-Region">home to more than 400</a>&nbsp;city, state and national parks! Here are just five Northwest state parks you’re going to want to check out.</p><p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">1. Hells Gate State Park</strong></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 17:50:32 +0000 Kelsie Smith 48620 at http://nwpr.org Which One Of These State Parks Is Not Like The Other? The Blob: Not The Horror Movie, The Summer Weather Influencer http://nwpr.org/post/blob-not-horror-movie-summer-weather-influencer <p>"The Blob" was the title of <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0051418/">a 1958 sci-fi horror movie</a>. It's also the nickname the Washington State Climatologist has given to a large patch of warmer than normal seawater off the Pacific Northwest Coast. This "blob" is unlikely to become the subject of another movie, but it will influence our summer weather.</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 23:54:28 +0000 Tom Banse 47127 at http://nwpr.org The Blob: Not The Horror Movie, The Summer Weather Influencer Northwest Diesel Ownership Among Tops Nationally, Still Lags Behind Europe http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-diesel-ownership-among-tops-nationally-still-lags-behind-europe <p>Northwesterners love their diesel pickups. A new report by a diesel industry group shows Oregon and Idaho are in the top ten when it comes to highest rates of diesel vehicle ownership in the nation. But the overall rate pales in comparison to other parts of the world. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 14:34:51 +0000 Chris Lehman 47079 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Diesel Ownership Among Tops Nationally, Still Lags Behind Europe Northwest Fire Season Ramps Up East Of The Cascades http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-fire-season-ramps-east-cascades <p>Workers in the Tri-Cities, Wash. area got notice Wednesday of tinder-dry conditions at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and were advised to practice fire safety at work and at home. It’s about four weeks ahead of schedule for these types of fire-weather alerts and a sign of a long, hot summer ahead.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:25:01 +0000 Anna King 46995 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Fire Season Ramps Up East Of The Cascades How To Remove A Tick - And Why A Hot Match Won’t Work http://nwpr.org/post/how-remove-tick-and-why-hot-match-won-t-work <p>Memorial Day weekend in the Northwest coincides with prime time for ticks. These arthropods can drink your blood for days without you knowing.</p><p> Sat, 24 May 2014 01:16:29 +0000 Jessica Robinson 46426 at http://nwpr.org How To Remove A Tick - And Why A Hot Match Won’t Work Long, Warm Summer On Tap According To Weather Service Outlook http://nwpr.org/post/long-warm-summer-tap-according-weather-service-outlook <p>The&nbsp;supercomputers&nbsp;at the Weather Service's Climate Prediction Center have crunched long-term trends to produce an outlook for June, July and August. For most of the Northwest, the forecast gives a strong probability of above-normal temperatures.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 00:14:11 +0000 Tom Banse 46303 at http://nwpr.org Long, Warm Summer On Tap According To Weather Service Outlook Washington’s Third-Largest Cherry Crop Queued Up This Season http://nwpr.org/post/washington-s-third-largest-cherry-crop-queued-season <p>Northwest sweet cherry growers say this season they'll likely pick their third-largest haul ever. That's 20 million boxes full. But there’s plenty that can happen to cherries even the day of harvest.</p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 23:23:52 +0000 Anna King 45796 at http://nwpr.org Washington’s Third-Largest Cherry Crop Queued Up This Season Fewer Northwest Farms, But They’re Bigger And More Valuable http://nwpr.org/post/fewer-northwest-farms-they-re-bigger-and-more-valuable <p>The number of farms in the Northwest is dropping. That's according to newly released federal farm data. But there's more to the story. The average size and value of Northwest farms are going up.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 00:26:25 +0000 Jessica Robinson 45570 at http://nwpr.org Fewer Northwest Farms, But They’re Bigger And More Valuable Republicans Hope To Gain Seats In State Legislatures http://nwpr.org/post/republicans-hope-gain-seats-state-legislatures <p>Republican strategists are eyeing state legislatures this year in hopes of taking more control of the legislative process. But political analysts don't expect major changes in northwest statehouses.</p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 00:39:09 +0000 Chris Lehman 45457 at http://nwpr.org Republicans Hope To Gain Seats In State Legislatures First Bitcoin ATM In US Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/first-bitcoin-atm-us-northwest <p>The world's first bitcoin ATM launched last year in Vancouver, Canada. Now there's also a physical place in the U.S. Northwest to buy and sell the virtual currency. A bitcoin ATM was just installed inside the entrance of a Seattle sports bar popular with tech workers. It is at the Spitfire Grill in the Belltown neighborhood.</p><p> Sat, 03 May 2014 00:17:03 +0000 Tom Banse 45329 at http://nwpr.org First Bitcoin ATM In US Northwest