Logging http://nwpr.org en Oso: Clearcut Extended Into No-Logging Zone http://nwpr.org/post/oso-clearcut-extended-no-logging-zone <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State officials say they didn't approve </span>clearcutting<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> inside a no-logging zone directly above Saturday's deadly landslide in the town of </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;But aerial photos show a </span>clearcut<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> extending into the zone where a loss of trees would heighten the risk of landslides.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:44:52 +0000 John Ryan 43512 at http://nwpr.org Oso: Clearcut Extended Into No-Logging Zone Conservationists Say They'll Sue Over Privatization Of State Forest http://nwpr.org/post/conservationists-say-theyll-sue-over-privatization-state-forest <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Conservation groups want timber companies to know they'll sue if an endangered seabird's habitat is threatened by logging. The groups object to the potential privatization of the Elliott State Forest in Oregon's coast range.</span></p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 00:21:36 +0000 Rachael McDonald 42774 at http://nwpr.org Conservationists Say They'll Sue Over Privatization Of State Forest 2013: A Good Year For West Coast Log And Lumber Exports http://nwpr.org/post/2013-good-year-west-coast-log-and-lumber-exports <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lumber and log exports from the West Coast rose about 20 percent last year, with demand peaking in the fourth quarter.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Most of the West Coast logs shipped overseas are going to China, although Japan has upped its demand, as well. With limited </span>forestlands<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> of their own, these countries rely on the United States’ timber supply.</span></p><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 00:59:15 +0000 Devan Schwartz 41955 at http://nwpr.org 2013: A Good Year For West Coast Log And Lumber Exports Groups Aim To Boost Logging, Restoration In Olympic National Forest http://nwpr.org/post/groups-aim-boost-logging-restoration-olympic-national-forest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/120313TB_OlyTimber_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Timber industry and environmental groups will make a stab at collaboration to boost both logging and habitat restoration in the Olympic National Forest.<p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 00:07:39 +0000 Tom Banse 38185 at http://nwpr.org Groups Aim To Boost Logging, Restoration In Olympic National Forest Wyden Timber Plan Aims To Bolster Hard-Hit Logging Towns http://nwpr.org/post/wyden-timber-plan-aims-bolster-hard-hit-logging-towns <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/112613CL_wyden_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon U.S. Senator Ron Wyden says his latest proposal to increase logging on Oregon forest land will also respect environmental concerns.&#160;<p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 00:24:11 +0000 Chris Lehman 37897 at http://nwpr.org Wyden Timber Plan Aims To Bolster Hard-Hit Logging Towns Export Terminal In Newport Would Route Log Trucks Past Condos http://nwpr.org/post/export-terminal-newport-would-route-log-trucks-past-condos <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Port of Newport on the Oregon coast is planning to develop a log export terminal. That’s led to a conflict with the port’s new neighbors.</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 13:33:04 +0000 Amelia Templeton 36394 at http://nwpr.org Export Terminal In Newport Would Route Log Trucks Past Condos House Passes Bill To Increase Logging on Federal Land http://nwpr.org/post/house-passes-bill-increase-logging-federal-land The US House has passed legislation that would increase timber production both on National Forests and the former railroad properties in Western Oregon known as the O&C lands. Oregon Public Broadcasting's David Nogueras reports.</p> Sat, 21 Sep 2013 01:03:04 +0000 David Nogueras 34502 at http://nwpr.org House Debates O&C Measure http://nwpr.org/post/house-debates-oc-measure <p></p><p>The US House of Representatives debated a bill Thursday that would dramatically increase logging on federal forest lands in the Northwest.</p><p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 13:29:09 +0000 David Nogueras 34469 at http://nwpr.org Pew Poll Finds Support For Protecting O&C Forests http://nwpr.org/post/pew-poll-finds-support-protecting-oc-forests <p>A majority of Oregon voters favor protections for the so called O and C forest lands in Western Oregon. That’s according to a new poll commissioned by the Pew Charitable Trusts. Amelia Templeton of Earthfix reports.</p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 13:37:18 +0000 Amelia Templeton 27949 at http://nwpr.org Anti-Logging Protesters: 'We Are Not Terrorists' http://nwpr.org/post/anti-logging-protesters-we-are-not-terrorists <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/050613CL_loggingprotests_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Some environmental groups say they're being unfairly targeted by legislation working its way through the Oregon capitol. A pair of measures take aim at protesters who get in the way of tree harvesting operations on state-owned forest land.<p>One bill would make it easier for timber companies to sue protesters. Mon, 06 May 2013 23:01:49 +0000 Chris Lehman 27074 at http://nwpr.org Anti-Logging Protesters: 'We Are Not Terrorists'