London Olympics http://nwpr.org en Olympic Track Champion Ashton Eaton Addresses Oregon Senate http://nwpr.org/post/olympic-track-champion-ashton-eaton-addresses-oregon-senate <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/022113CL_eaton_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. – Olympic gold medal winner Ashton Eaton thanked Oregon lawmakers for supporting track athletes like him. Fri, 22 Feb 2013 00:18:05 +0000 Chris Lehman 23150 at http://nwpr.org Olympic Track Champion Ashton Eaton Addresses Oregon Senate USA-Japan Match Draws Northwest Soccer Fans http://nwpr.org/post/usa-japan-match-draws-northwest-soccer-fans <p>Scores of people watched at the University of Portland Thursday as the American women&rsquo;s soccer team defeated Japan for the Olympic gold medal. USA star Megan Rapinoe is a UP graduate. But another player with Northwest ties might&rsquo;ve been more critical to the win. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 00:16:11 +0000 Rob Manning 13136 at http://nwpr.org USA-Japan Match Draws Northwest Soccer Fans Seattle Boxer Takes Historic Step Into Ring, If Not The Gold http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-boxer-takes-historic-step-ring-if-not-gold <p>Fans of Seattle boxer Queen Underwood hope a disappointing outcome in London won&rsquo;t keep her from trying again at the 2016 Olympics. Underwood lost her opening bout Sunday in the first Olympics to open up boxing to women. Mon, 06 Aug 2012 23:04:16 +0000 Jessica Robinson 12899 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Boxer Takes Historic Step Into Ring, If Not The Gold Three-Time Idaho Olympian Won't Be At Opening Ceremonies http://nwpr.org/post/three-time-idaho-olympian-wont-be-opening-ceremonies <p>Idaho cyclist Kristin Armstrong is in London getting ready for Sunday&rsquo;s 86-mile road race through the English countryside. This is Armstrong&rsquo;s third Olympics, and she says she won&rsquo;t take part in today&rsquo;s opening ceremonies. Sat, 28 Jul 2012 00:19:58 +0000 Sadie Babits 12378 at http://nwpr.org Star Pupil At Seattle Boxing Gym Aims For Gold http://nwpr.org/post/star-pupil-seattle-boxing-gym-aims-gold <p>A Northwest boxing gym will be rooting for its hometown favorite at an Olympic event never-before open to women. Boxing was the last all-male hold out in the Olympics, until this year. Seattle&rsquo;s Queen Underwood hopes to bring home the gold. Fri, 27 Jul 2012 00:26:56 +0000 Jessica Robinson 12318 at http://nwpr.org Star Pupil At Seattle Boxing Gym Aims For Gold Unlikely Olympian Not Well Known In His Hometown http://nwpr.org/post/unlikely-olympian-not-well-known-his-hometown <p>One of the surprise winners of a slot on the U.S. Olympic Track and Field team isn&rsquo;t a household name, even in the town where his track career took off. Now, Ryan Bailey is headed to London to compete in the 100-meter race. Tue, 26 Jun 2012 00:34:53 +0000 Chris Lehman 10618 at http://nwpr.org