Criminal Justice http://nwpr.org en Inslee Launches Review Of Prison Population Growth http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-launches-review-prison-population-growth <p>Washington’s prison system is projected to need 1,000 new beds by 2018. That growth has Governor Jay Inslee concerned. The Democrat Tuesday announced a Department of Justice-backed review of the state’s criminal justice system. The goal is to look for ways to save money without jeopardizing public safety.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 01:00:57 +0000 Austin Jenkins 48011 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Launches Review Of Prison Population Growth Court Documents: Student Planned "Mass Murder" At High School http://nwpr.org/post/court-documents-student-planned-mass-murder-high-school <p>West Albany High School students are praising one of their classmates as a hero. Truman Templeton sounded the alarm that a fellow student was plotting what officials call "mass murder" at his high school. Seventeen-year-old Grant Acord is being held on $2 million bail after his initial court appearance Tuesday. Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman reports.</p><p> Wed, 29 May 2013 12:58:58 +0000 Chris Lehman 28350 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Calls For 'Aggressive' Approach To Drunk Drivers http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-calls-aggressive-approach-drunk-drivers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/04/040913AJ_Inslee.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>OLYMPIA, Wash. – Washington Governor Jay Inslee is demanding a renewed crackdown on drunk drivers. This after recent tragedies in the Seattle area.<p>The Democrat Tuesday called for more DUI patrols, more resources for prosecutors and stricter rules for ignition interlock devices.<p>“We've got to understand a drinking driver is just as dangerous as someone out there with a bomb in their car because that’s what they are," the governor said. Tue, 09 Apr 2013 23:10:17 +0000 Austin Jenkins 25622 at http://nwpr.org Inslee Calls For 'Aggressive' Approach To Drunk Drivers Sex Abuse Survivors Want To Eliminate Statute Of Limitations http://nwpr.org/post/sex-abuse-survivors-want-eliminate-statute-limitations <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/04/050813VA_AbuseBill_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. - Survivors of childhood sex abuse are lobbying in Salem to eliminate the time limit to press charges against their perpetrators. A committee held a hearing on a new bill Monday.<p>Letty Merritt, with the group OAASIS, is an advocate for sex abuse survivors. She says she was abused by four male relatives when she was younger. It wasn’t until her mid-30s, after years of therapy that she was finally able to speak out and press charges against her abusers. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 23:04:19 +0000 Virginia Alvino 25552 at http://nwpr.org Sex Abuse Survivors Want To Eliminate Statute Of Limitations Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terrorism Plot After Police Destroy Evidence http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-man-gets-18-years-terrorism-plot-after-police-destroy-evidence <p>A Seattle man received an eighteen-year prison sentence on terrorism charges on Monday. He was convicted of plotting to attack a military installation in Seattle. KUOW’s John Ryan reports from Seattle.</p><p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 14:30:18 +0000 John Ryan 24865 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terrorism Plot After Police Destroy Evidence Amanda Knox To Face Second Murder Trial http://nwpr.org/post/amanda-knox-face-second-murder-trial <p>Seattle native and University of Washington student Amanda Knox will stand trial in Italy for murder – again.</p><p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 14:23:38 +0000 Nick Dettorre 24863 at http://nwpr.org No Mercy For Serial Killer Yates By State High Court http://nwpr.org/post/no-mercy-serial-killer-yates-state-high-court <p>Washington State high court justices have brushed aside a long list of legal objections raised by Spokane multiple murderer Robert Yates in his effort to escape the death penalty. Spokane Public Radio's Tom Bacon reports.</p><p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:03:31 +0000 Tom Bacon 24341 at http://nwpr.org Portland Employee Faces Terrorism Charge http://nwpr.org/post/portland-employee-faces-terrorism-charge <p>Portland city employee Reaz Qadir Khan was arrested Tuesday on charges of conspiring to provide "material support" to terrorists. &nbsp;As Kristian Foden-Vencil reports, the US Department of Justice alleges&nbsp;he helped a terrorist plan a deadly suicide attack in Lahore, Pakistan in 2009. Wed, 06 Mar 2013 14:43:58 +0000 Kristian Fodel-Vencil 23819 at http://nwpr.org Budget Impasse Leads To Some Releases At Tacoma Immigration Lockup http://nwpr.org/post/budget-impasse-leads-some-releases-tacoma-immigration-lockup <p>Sequestration has apparently led to a “get out of jail free” card for some detainees at an immigration lockup in Tacoma. With budget cuts looming, the Department of Homeland Security announced Tuesday that it’s shifting some detainees around the country to supervised release. KUOW’s Liz Jones reports. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 14:17:18 +0000 Liz Jones 23420 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Consider Death Penalty Repeal http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-consider-death-penalty-repeal <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/02/022613CL_deathfeature_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>SALEM, Ore. – More than a year ago, Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber stunned people by enacting a moratorium on the death penalty. It happened just weeks before the scheduled execution of two-time murderer Gary Haugen. At a hearing Tuesday, lawmakers took up the question of whether to ask voters to repeal the death penalty altogether. But it’s not clear whether that will actually happen.<p>Dan Bryant knows the unique pain of learning a loved one has been murdered. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 00:47:40 +0000 Chris Lehman 23400 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Lawmakers Consider Death Penalty Repeal