Free Speech http://nwpr.org en Lane County Commissioners Vote to Close Eugene Free Speech Plaza http://nwpr.org/post/lane-county-commissioners-vote-close-eugene-free-speech-plaza <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Lane County Board of Commissioners Wednesday voted to close the free speech&nbsp;area in Eugene where protestors have been camped since mid August. Last week the county health officer said the encampment is a public health risk.</span></p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 23:35:52 +0000 Rachael McDonald 33655 at http://nwpr.org Lane County Commissioners Vote to Close Eugene Free Speech Plaza Court Case Questions Protest Restrictions At Oregon State Capitol http://nwpr.org/post/court-case-questions-protest-restrictions-oregon-state-capitol <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/06/061313CL_speech_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon's highest court is taking up the question of whether the state can restrict protests in front of the capitol. The case stems from a 2008 anti-war rally that resulted in arrests after protesters refused to leave the grounds overnight.<p>Justices heard arguments Thursday.<p>Michele Darr spent night after winter night on the front steps of the Oregon capitol in December of 2008.&#160;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">"It was difficult," she says. "It was cold. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 00:19:12 +0000 Chris Lehman 29309 at http://nwpr.org Court Case Questions Protest Restrictions At Oregon State Capitol Federal Court Considers Controversial NW Bus Ad http://nwpr.org/post/federal-court-considers-controversial-nw-bus-ad <p>The question of how free speech applies to the side of buses is before a panel of federal judges. Members of the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals heard oral arguments Wednesday in a special meeting in Spokane. The case stems from a controversial ad on Seattle buses but has implications for transit systems around the Northwest. Correspondent Jessica Robinson reports. Thu, 04 Oct 2012 13:23:39 +0000 Jessica Robinson 16233 at http://nwpr.org Federal Court Considers Controversial NW Bus Ad Oregon Mural Draws The Ire Of Chinese Government http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-mural-draws-ire-chinese-government <p>The Chinese government is playing the role of art critic in Corvallis. A giant mural there depicts a Tibetan monk setting himself on fire. Wed, 12 Sep 2012 13:44:12 +0000 Chris Lehman 15052 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Mural Draws The Ire Of Chinese Government Idaho Case Shows Limits Of Anonymous Comments Online http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-case-shows-limits-anonymous-comments-online <p>Online free speech experts say people who like to post fiery comments on the internet should take heed of a north Idaho case. A judge said this week that the right to remain anonymous does not extend to internet comments that insinuate someone committed a crime. Correspondent Jessica Robinson has more. Thu, 12 Jul 2012 13:06:18 +0000 Jessica Robinson 11497 at http://nwpr.org Washingtonians Disappointed By Negative Political Ads http://nwpr.org/post/washingtonians-disappointed-negative-political-ads <p>Washington voters find it hard to determine if political campaign ads are accurate, according to a survey by the AARP of Washington. Paige Browning reports, the organization hosted an event in Spokane Thursday to share the results and educate their members. Mon, 11 Jun 2012 13:52:51 +0000 Paige Browning 9795 at http://nwpr.org