Virginia Alvino http://nwpr.org en Oregon Senate Approves Bill To Offer Children Of Immigrants In-State Tuition http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-senate-approves-bill-offer-children-immigrants-state-tuition <p></p><p>After ten years of effort, immigrant rights advocates are celebrating the final vote to give in-state tuition rates to some undocumented students. The Oregon Senate approved the bill Thursday and Gov. John Kitzhaber says he plans to sign it. Thu, 21 Mar 2013 23:12:11 +0000 Virginia Alvino 24662 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Senate Approves Bill To Offer Children Of Immigrants In-State Tuition County Clerks Could Be Appointed Instead Of Elected http://nwpr.org/post/county-clerks-could-be-appointed-instead-elected <p>County clerks in Oregon would be appointed rather than elected under a measure in the Oregon legislature. A Committee in Salem heard testimony today on a proposed constitutional amendment.</p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:46:01 +0000 Virginia Alvino 24488 at http://nwpr.org County Clerks Could Be Appointed Instead Of Elected Oregon DMV Grants Driver Licenses To Some Young Immigrants http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-dmv-grants-driver-licenses-some-young-immigrants-0 <p></p><p>Oregon transportation officials reversed course Wednesday and announced that children of undocumented immigrants can get state driver licenses. The decision applies to people who qualify for President Obama’s deferred deportation policy. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 02:33:43 +0000 Virginia Alvino 21302 at http://nwpr.org Oregon DMV Grants Driver Licenses To Some Young Immigrants Oregon Considers Limits On Rodent Killing Devices http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-considers-limits-rodent-killing-devices <p>An Oregon man injured by an explosive rodent killing device is pushing lawmakers to regulate the machines. The issue was the subject of a hearing at the state capitol Tuesday. Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:55:48 +0000 Virginia Alvino 19656 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Considers Limits On Rodent Killing Devices Proposal For 2014 Would Change Oregon's Energy Standards http://nwpr.org/post/proposal-2014-would-change-oregons-energy-standards <p>Even as voters decide this year’s ballot measures, initiative activists are already preparing for 2014. One new measure filed in Oregon would allow more power from hydroelectric dams to be part of the state’s renewable energy requirements. Sat, 27 Oct 2012 00:53:39 +0000 Virginia Alvino 17405 at http://nwpr.org Proposal For 2014 Would Change Oregon's Energy Standards Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-death-row-inmate-asks-judge-overturn-governors-reprieve <p>Late last year, Gov. John Kitzhaber issued a moratorium that put on hold the execution of twice-convicted murderer Gary Haugen. Now the death row inmate is asking a judge to overrule that reprieve. Haugen appeared in a Marion County courtroom Tuesday. Tue, 24 Jul 2012 23:33:54 +0000 Virginia Alvino 12189 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Death Row Inmate Asks Judge To Overturn Governor's Reprieve Jackpot! Crime DOES Pay, For The Medford Police Department http://nwpr.org/post/jackpot-crime-does-pay-medford-police-department <p>When it comes to the lottery, you can&rsquo;t win if you don&rsquo;t play. But that&rsquo;s not the case for the Medford Police Department. This week, the agency learned it won part of a million dollar jackpot from the Oregon lottery, but not because any officers bought the ticket. Fri, 13 Jul 2012 01:50:11 +0000 Virginia Alvino 11538 at http://nwpr.org Jackpot! Crime DOES Pay, For The Medford Police Department Corporate Kicker For K-12 Well On Track To November Ballot http://nwpr.org/post/corporate-kicker-k-12-well-track-november-ballot <p>An initiative to redirect corporate tax rebates to public schools is on track to qualify for the November ballot. This rebate is called the kicker because it goes into effect when tax revenues exceed projections by more than 2 percent. Mon, 09 Jul 2012 12:39:50 +0000 Virginia Alvino 11311 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Oregon Counties In Line For Federal Aid, But Will There Be More? http://nwpr.org/post/northwest-oregon-counties-line-federal-aid-will-there-be-more <p>Cash strapped county budgets got word Thursday, that their annual federal aid check is coming through. But as it stands, this year&rsquo;s payments in lieu of property taxes could be the last of their kind.</p><p>Nearly every county in the Northwest receives at least some money based on their population and how much nontaxable public land is within their borders. The program, called PILT for short expires this year. It&rsquo;s up to congress to reauthorize it.</p><p>Gil Riddell, Policy Coordinator for the Association of Oregon Counties, predicts that despite congressional gridlock, the counties won&rsquo;t be left out to dry. Fri, 15 Jun 2012 00:45:28 +0000 Virginia Alvino 10030 at http://nwpr.org Northwest Oregon Counties In Line For Federal Aid, But Will There Be More?