Tamara Keith http://nwpr.org en Kicking The Can Down The Road: A Habit That's Hard To Kick http://nwpr.org/post/kicking-can-down-road-habit-thats-hard-kick The Senate is expected to vote on a temporary transportation spending bill later this week — with an emphasis on the word <em>temporary</em>.<p>The bill would keep highway funding flowing through May of next year, and avert a looming infrastructure crisis. Without congressional action, the highway trust fund would run out of cash in August.<p>The short-term fix follows a familiar pattern. It goes something like this:<p>First, panic erupts because the government is going to shut down — or a program is going to run out of money — or a tax will automatically rise. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 16:08:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 49318 at http://nwpr.org Kicking The Can Down The Road: A Habit That's Hard To Kick Obama Unrolls New Sanctions Against Russia http://nwpr.org/post/obama-unrolls-new-sanctions-against-russia Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>President Obama had some announcements today on U.S. policy overseas. In the White House briefing room, the president ran through a long list of what he described as pressing foreign policy challenges - questions about the election results in Afghanistan, Iranian nuclear talks, the ongoing violence between Hamas and Israel and finally, the situation in Ukraine. The U.S. government imposed new sanctions on Russia today over interference in that country. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 00:02:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 49150 at http://nwpr.org A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty http://nwpr.org/post/mothers-essay-challenges-assumptions-about-poverty The stereotype of the so-called welfare queen driving a luxury car while leaching off of society is an enduring one.<p>Darlena Cunha takes on this idea <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/07/08/this-is-what-happened-when-i-drove-my-mercedes-to-pick-up-food-stamps/">in a personal essay</a> published Tuesday by <em>The Washington Post</em>. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 48929 at http://nwpr.org A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty What Could $100 Million Buy You — Besides Campaign Ads In Kentucky? http://nwpr.org/post/what-can-100-million-buy-you-besides-election-kentucky For the amount of money that's expected to be spent in the Kentucky race for U.S. Senate this year, you could buy a bottle of the state's own Maker's Mark whiskey for nearly every man, woman and child in the state.<p>Some observers say the election could end up as the most expensive Senate race in history, with spending topping $100 million. And why wouldn't it be? It's at the heart of the battle for control of the U.S. Senate.<p>The incumbent, Mitch McConnell, is the top Republican in the Senate and could become majority leader. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 11:38:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 48915 at http://nwpr.org What Could $100 Million Buy You — Besides Campaign Ads In Kentucky? Administration Focuses On Challenges Working Families Face http://nwpr.org/post/administration-focuses-challenges-working-families-face Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Now, a big part of President Obama's two national campaign victories was a promise to help working families. His critics complain that all these years later, he's still talking about some of the very same policy prescriptions with little to show for it. Today, ideas like paid sick and maternity leave and universal preschool will take center stage at the White House Summit on Working Families, so will the challenges faced by workers caring for their children and sometimes their parents. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:23:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47892 at http://nwpr.org Political Solution Needed In Iraq, Obama Says http://nwpr.org/post/political-solution-needed-iraq-obama-says President Obama is sending up to 300 military advisers to Iraq to gather intelligence on the insurgency. He was adamant there will be no American combat operations on the ground in Iraq. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47770 at http://nwpr.org Obama Plans To Send Advisers To Iraq, Leaving Air Strikes On Table http://nwpr.org/post/obama-plans-send-advisers-iraq-leaving-air-strikes-table Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama announced today that the U.S. will send up to 300 special forces advisers into Iraq. He says they'll gather intelligence and assist Iraqi security forces. This comes as radical Islamists continue to march toward Baghdad. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47745 at http://nwpr.org Upset Of Eric Cantor Deals A Shock To GOP Establishment http://nwpr.org/post/upset-eric-cantor-deals-shock-gop-establishment Eric Cantor became the first house majority leader ever to lose a primary, losing the GOP nomination to Tea Party challenger David Brat in the Republican primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 01:26:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47275 at http://nwpr.org What Happened To Unemployment Benefits? http://nwpr.org/post/what-happened-unemployment-benefits Five months have passed since the expiration of the emergency unemployment benefits program for the long-term unemployed. Amid congressional delays, it's unclear whether those benefits ever will be extended. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47113 at http://nwpr.org Release Of Sgt. Bergdahl May Have Come At A High Cost http://nwpr.org/post/release-sgt-bergdahl-may-have-come-high-cost Bowe Bergdahl's release and the prisoner swap that made it possible are raising thorny foreign policy questions, which are being voiced most loudly at this point by congressional Republicans. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46838 at http://nwpr.org