Kelly McEvers http://nwpr.org en Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://nwpr.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 48936 at http://nwpr.org On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://nwpr.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 48764 at http://nwpr.org Are Life Spans Getting Longer? It Depends On How Wealthy You Are http://nwpr.org/post/are-life-spans-getting-longer-it-depends-how-wealthy-you-are While life expectancies are getting longer for those who are well off, life spans for poor women are actually getting shorter. The stories of two women, from two very different places, illustrate the reasons for the gap. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 47925 at http://nwpr.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://nwpr.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 46839 at http://nwpr.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage http://nwpr.org/post/albuquerque-police-face-federal-scrutiny-local-outrage Kenneth Ellis III was shot and killed by police in a 7-Eleven parking lot in Albuquerque, N.M.<p>He is among the dozens of people local police have shot over the last four years, 25 of whom have died. The U.S. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 46306 at http://nwpr.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage Spouses Of H1B Visa Holders May Soon Be Able To Hold U.S. Jobs http://nwpr.org/post/spouses-h1b-visa-holders-may-now-hold-jobs-us Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>With immigration reform a non-starter in Congress, those advocating reform have been urging the Obama administration to make changes on its own. And the first of those changes was announced this week. It involves the guest visa program known as H1B that allows highly skilled professionals from other countries to come to work in the U.S. The change would allow nearly 100,000 spouses of H1B visa holders to work as well. NPR's Kelly McEvers has the story.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: Back in India, Priyancka More got a management degree and an MBA. Thu, 08 May 2014 09:15:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 45582 at http://nwpr.org Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://nwpr.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 43647 at http://nwpr.org Dwindling Middle Class Has Repercussions For Small Towns http://nwpr.org/post/reinventing-dwindling-middle-class-may-take-revolution My parents moved away from Lincoln, Ill., two decades ago, when I was in college. I hardly ever get back there. But my mom still works in Lincoln, and it was to Lincoln I headed to meet her this fall, after returning to the U.S. from the Middle East.<p>I got off the train from Chicago and immediately saw that the old depot building — where we used to go for fancy dinners before prom — was shuttered. A little monument commemorating the day Abraham Lincoln named the town in 1853 was faded and peeling. There was a man asleep on a bench at the train stop. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 37145 at http://nwpr.org Dwindling Middle Class Has Repercussions For Small Towns In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab http://nwpr.org/post/iraq-laying-claim-kebab When you hear the word "kebab" in America, you might think of skewers with chunks of chicken or beef and vegetables, marinated and grilled on coals or gas. But say "kebab" in the Middle East, and it means a lot of things — chunks of lamb or liver on skewers, or the more popular version of grilled ground meat logs found in Turkey, Iran and much of the Arab world.<p>If you spend enough time in the Middle East, you learn it can be hard to pinpoint the origins of things. Everybody claims to have invented hummus, flatbread and even yogurt. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 22:16:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 32508 at http://nwpr.org In Iraq, Laying Claim To The Kebab Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt http://nwpr.org/post/al-jazeera-under-fire-its-coverage-egypt <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=indIpXbtOUU</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 07:19:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 31139 at http://nwpr.org Al-Jazeera Under Fire For Its Coverage Of Egypt