Deborah Wang http://nwpr.org en After Raucous Session, Seattle City Council Raises Minimum Wage to $15 http://nwpr.org/post/after-raucous-session-seattle-city-council-raises-minimum-wage-15 <p>Seattle has become the first city in the country to establish a $15 an hour minimum wage. The City Council voted Monday to enact the new law, which was the result of months of negotiations.</p><p>It represents a 60 percent increase from the current state minimum wage, which at $9.32 an hour is the highest in the country.</p><p>Proponents say it’s a first step towards closing the rising income gap between rich and poor. Some businesses say they will go to court to fight it. KUOW’s Deborah Wang reports. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:16:09 +0000 Deborah Wang 46900 at http://nwpr.org Candidates For Washington Attorney General Come Out Swinging http://nwpr.org/post/candidates-washington-attorney-general-come-out-swinging <p>The two leading candidates for Attorney General for the state of Washington held their first live debate Tuesday in Spokane. Democrat Bob Ferguson and Republican Reagan Dunn are seeking the seat being vacated by Rob McKenna, who is running for Governor. Deborah Wang reports it was a spirited and sometimes sharp-edged debate. Wed, 13 Jun 2012 13:21:24 +0000 Deborah Wang 9923 at http://nwpr.org Obama To Appear at Two Fundraising Events in Seattle on Thursday http://nwpr.org/post/obama-appear-two-fundraising-events-seattle-thursday <p>President Barack Obama is due back in Seattle on Thursday for two fundraising events to benefit his re-election campaign and the Democratic National Committee.</p><p>The first is a brunch for big donors and the second is a reception at the Paramount Theatre. Tue, 08 May 2012 23:30:04 +0000 Deborah Wang 7973 at http://nwpr.org Obama To Appear at Two Fundraising Events in Seattle on Thursday Bellevue Company Announces Ambitious Effort to Mine Asteroids http://nwpr.org/post/bellevue-company-announces-ambitious-effort-mine-asteroids <p>A new Bellevue-based company&nbsp;has&nbsp;announced plans&nbsp;that sound like they come straight out of science fiction. Planetary Resources intends to send robots to nearby asteroids, and mine them for metals and other resources. The venture is backed by billionaires, rocket scientists, and a Hollywood director. Wed, 25 Apr 2012 00:15:13 +0000 Deborah Wang 7174 at http://nwpr.org Bellevue Company Announces Ambitious Effort to Mine Asteroids Microsoft Sells Patents To Facebook http://nwpr.org/post/microsoft-sells-patents-facebook <p>Facebook is about to write a very big check to Microsoft. Microsoft announced yesterday it is selling hundreds of patents to Facebook for more than a half a billion dollars. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 13:01:45 +0000 Deborah Wang 7135 at http://nwpr.org GOP Caucuses Are Finished, But the Voting Is Not Over http://nwpr.org/post/gop-caucuses-are-finished-voting-not-over <p>OLYMPIA -- Record numbers of Republicans in Washington turned out to select delegates and cast votes in a non-binding presidential straw poll this weekend. Mitt Romney was the clear winner, followed by Ron Paul and Rick Santorum. But it will be months before the campaigns know exactly how many delegates they can count on from Washington State. Deborah Wang has this look ahead. Mon, 05 Mar 2012 14:41:58 +0000 Deborah Wang 4289 at http://nwpr.org GOP Caucuses Are Finished, But the Voting Is Not Over