Kelsie Smith http://nwpr.org en Which One Of These State Parks Is Not Like The Other? http://nwpr.org/post/which-one-these-state-parks-not-other <p>There’s no need to roam too far from home to have a great summer vacation. The Northwest has many beautiful state parks for you to visit. The Northwest alone is <a href="http://www.parks.wa.gov/845/Seattle-Tacoma-Region">home to more than 400</a>&nbsp;city, state and national parks! Here are just five Northwest state parks you’re going to want to check out.</p><p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">1. Hells Gate State Park</strong></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 17:50:32 +0000 Kelsie Smith 48620 at http://nwpr.org Which One Of These State Parks Is Not Like The Other? Chihuly And Cellos: A Transcendent Affair http://nwpr.org/post/chihuly-and-cellos-transcendent-affair <p></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 14:42:23 +0000 Kelsie Smith 47078 at http://nwpr.org Chihuly And Cellos: A Transcendent Affair Before You Go For A Swim, Read This! http://nwpr.org/post/you-go-swim-read <p>The weather might be nice this time of the year, but the water is not.</p><p></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 15:33:19 +0000 Kelsie Smith 46622 at http://nwpr.org Before You Go For A Swim, Read This! What Northwest Public Radio Is Listening To This Summer http://nwpr.org/post/what-northwest-public-radio-listening-summer <p></p><p></p><p>Summer is a time of sunshine, blue skies and green lawns; better weather and easy days. Each summer seems to have its own soundtrack, songs you discover or rediscover that capture the very essence of summer. Northwest Public Radio’s hosts are no strangers to these summer tracks and they want to share their favorites with you! So, without further ado, here are some of NWPR’s favorite classic and current summer hits.</p><p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">Jessie Jacobs, Classical Music Host</strong></p> Wed, 28 May 2014 17:33:38 +0000 Kelsie Smith 46021 at http://nwpr.org What Northwest Public Radio Is Listening To This Summer Guy Who Identified the Stolen Stradivarius Can Help You Pick a Violin http://nwpr.org/post/guy-who-identified-stolen-stradivarius-can-help-you-pick-violin <p>The Classical music world was relieved when Milwaukee police found the stolen Stradivarius. But how were they sure it was the genuine article? After all, <a href="http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/calm-down-stradivarius-violin-found-in-bulgaria-is-a-fake-8552177.html"><u>people have tried to pass off counterfeits before</u></a><u>.</u> &nbsp;Enter this guy:&nbsp;</p><p>Stefan Hersh.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 17:48:02 +0000 Kelsie Smith 41978 at http://nwpr.org Guy Who Identified the Stolen Stradivarius Can Help You Pick a Violin Listen to Robin Rilette's Farewell Show http://nwpr.org/post/listen-robin-rilettes-farewell-show <div style="margin-top: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px;"><p><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="3"><span style="font-size: 13pt;">In two decades of hosting a classical music program every weekday morning, Robin Rilette&nbsp;took you to faraway places, introduced you to new music, and kept you company in the mornings. But Robin is now embarking on a new chapter in her life, as she leaves Northwest Public Radio for the Maine Public Broadcasting Network.</span></font></p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:32:36 +0000 Kelsie Smith 40768 at http://nwpr.org Listen to Robin Rilette's Farewell Show Washington Gets Its First Charter School http://nwpr.org/post/washington-gets-its-first-charter-school <p>Spokane has approved Washington State’s first charter school after a unanimous vote by the city’s public school board.</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:43:44 +0000 Kelsie Smith 40763 at http://nwpr.org Washington Gets Its First Charter School Are You An Accidental or Professional Photographer? Send Us Your Stuff! http://nwpr.org/post/are-you-accidental-or-professional-photographer-send-us-your-stuff <p>We&#39;ve launched our <a href="http://nwpublicradio.tumblr.com/">Tumblr</a> page! It will feature the&nbsp;amazing scenery of the Northwest but we need your help. If you are an accidental, amateur or professional photographer send us your work. We will promote it on our <a href="http://nwpublicradio.tumblr.com/">Tumblr</a> and <a href="https://www.facebook.com/northwestpublicradio">Facebook</a> sites.</p><p>We are currently featuring amateur photographer Jenni Chaffin. Check out her baby owl picture. Now we need your photos!</p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 17:48:32 +0000 Kelsie Smith 34869 at http://nwpr.org Are You An Accidental or Professional Photographer? Send Us Your Stuff! James Levine Makes A Grand Return http://nwpr.org/post/james-levine-makes-grand-return-2 <p>After missing two seasons from the <a href="http://www.metoperafamily.org/metopera/index.aspx?">Metropolitan Opera</a>, Music Director <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Levine">James Levine </a>makes a triumphant return.</p><p>Levine has a 40 year history at the Met, but&nbsp;multiple health problems&nbsp;led him to take leave two years ago. Though there was much speculation&nbsp;as to whether Levine would return to the&nbsp;stage. He did so Tuesday night&nbsp;using a podium designed specially for him.</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:39:42 +0000 Kelsie Smith 34724 at http://nwpr.org James Levine Makes A Grand Return ANYBODY Can Conduct A World-Class Orchestra? In New York City, Yes! http://nwpr.org/post/anybody-can-conduct-world-class-orchestra-new-york-city-yes <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A New York City-based group called </span><a href="http://improveverywhere.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Improv Everywhere</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> placed a world-class orchestra in the middle of the city and gave the public a chance to conduct them.</span></p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:06:30 +0000 Kelsie Smith 34731 at http://nwpr.org ANYBODY Can Conduct A World-Class Orchestra? In New York City, Yes!