Steve Jackson http://nwpr.org en Taxes On Pot Could Limit Sales http://nwpr.org/post/taxes-pot-could-limit-sales <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">When legal recreational marijuana sales begin later this year in Washington, it’s likely the majority of sales of pot will still be through the black market.</span></p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 15:19:15 +0000 Steve Jackson 39679 at http://nwpr.org Both Sides In GMO Labeling Initiative See Positives In Recent Poll http://nwpr.org/post/both-sides-gmo-labeling-initiative-see-positives-recent-poll <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Both sides in the debate over an initiative to require labeling of Genetically Modified foods say results of a recent Seattle poll are promising.</span></p><p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:05:41 +0000 Steve Jackson 36571 at http://nwpr.org Totem To Protest Coal Facilities Visits Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/totem-protest-coal-facilities-visits-spokane <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Native American ceremony was held in Riverfront Park in Spokane Friday to protest plans for coal shipping terminals on the west coast.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:17:47 +0000 Steve Jackson 34572 at http://nwpr.org Totem To Protest Coal Facilities Visits Spokane Labeling Of GMO Foods Has Different Implications For Food Producers http://nwpr.org/post/labeling-gmo-foods-has-different-implications-food-producers <p></p><p>The Washington state initiative that calls for labeling genetically modified foods will impact food producers in the state and those that sell here. Some feel it will cost them more, others see it as a chance to expand their market.</p><p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 13:40:15 +0000 Steve Jackson 33139 at http://nwpr.org Washington Hospitals Weigh In On Supreme Court Concerns http://nwpr.org/post/washington-hospitals-weigh-supreme-court-concerns <p>The Washington state Hospital association is weighing in on their concerns about the possible aftermath of a US Supreme Court ruling that could overturn all or part of the Affordable care act.&nbsp; Steve Jackson has more.</p><p> Fri, 22 Jun 2012 23:46:10 +0000 Steve Jackson 10492 at http://nwpr.org Killer Of Grizzly Mother And Cub Sought http://nwpr.org/post/killer-grizzly-mother-and-cub-sought <p>Idaho state and federal officials are searching for whoever killed a female Grizzly bear and her cub. Grizzly bears are a federally protected Endangered Species.</p><p>The incident occurred north of the town of Bonners Ferry on Hall Mountain. The animals were discovered on Friday by a hiker.</p><p>Idaho Fish and Game Spokesman Phil Cooper says it&rsquo;s not known if a hunter mistook the Griz for a black bear, shot it, and then noticed the cub, &ldquo;and then approached the animal , saw it had a cub with it and panicked, or whether it went through their mind that this animal is going to starve, I&rsquo;m going to shoot rather than let it starve, who knows&rdquo;. Wed, 23 May 2012 23:40:18 +0000 Steve Jackson 8836 at http://nwpr.org Killer Of Grizzly Mother And Cub Sought New Wind Power Generators In Eastern Washington http://nwpr.org/post/new-wind-power-generators-eastern-washington <p>You may be familiar with the sight of wind turbine generators in the Columbia Gorge, but soon, dozens of the tall structures will be built some 40 miles south of Spokane. Wed, 02 May 2012 23:24:22 +0000 Steve Jackson 7657 at http://nwpr.org New Wind Power Generators In Eastern Washington EPA Scales Back North Idaho Clean-Up http://nwpr.org/post/epa-scales-back-north-idaho-clean <p>SILVER VALLEY, Idaho -- The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has decided to scale back plans for cleaning up Idaho&rsquo;s Silver Valley. The region has been the site of a Superfund clean-up of mining waste since the 1980s. Steve Jackson has more on the story. Thu, 16 Feb 2012 14:30:54 +0000 Steve Jackson 3246 at http://nwpr.org