Ann Dornfeld http://nwpr.org en Washington Is At “High Risk” Of Losing Federal Education Waiver http://nwpr.org/post/washington-high-risk-losing-federal-education-waiver <p></p><p>Washington and Oregon have been given one year to change the way they evaluate teachers or risk losing millions in federal education funding.</p><p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 13:40:30 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 32654 at http://nwpr.org Federal Probe Targets Uneven Discipline At Seattle Schools http://nwpr.org/post/federal-probe-targets-uneven-discipline-seattle-schools The Education Department has launched an investigation into discipline rates in Seattle public schools.<p>Students of color have long been punished in far higher numbers than white students in Seattle, but now the department's Office for Civil Rights is looking at whether black students are disciplined more frequently and more harshly than white students for the same behavior.<p>African-American students in Seattle schools are suspended at a staggering rate. More than one in four black middle-schoolers are suspended at least once in any given school year. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 22:07:00 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 23927 at http://nwpr.org Seattle High School's Teachers Toss District's Test http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-high-schools-teachers-toss-districts-test An entire school of teachers in Seattle is refusing to give students a standardized test that's required by the district. The teachers say the test is useless and wastes valuable instructional time.<p>Meanwhile, individual teacher protests of standardized tests are popping up nationwide, and the Seattle case may make bigger waves.<p><strong>'I Just See No Use For It'</strong><p>Students in Seattle Public Schools take a test called the Measures of Academic Progress, or MAP, up to three times a year, from kindergarten through at least ninth grade. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 21:46:00 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 21347 at http://nwpr.org Seattle High School's Teachers Toss District's Test Ron Paul Draws Huge Crowd at Seattle Rally http://nwpr.org/post/ron-paul-draws-huge-crowd-seattle-rally <p>SEATTLE -- Republican presidential candidate Ron Paul spoke to a packed house of supporters at a rally in SeaTac Thursday night. Paul is trying to galvanize Washington voters for the state&#39;s March 3rd caucuses. From KUOW in Seattle, Ann Dornfeld reports.</p><p> Fri, 17 Feb 2012 14:22:42 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3320 at http://nwpr.org Ron Paul Draws Huge Crowd at Seattle Rally Wash. Requests No Child Left Behind Waiver http://nwpr.org/post/wash-requests-no-child-left-behind-waiver <p>OLYMPIA, Wash. -- Washington State will apply for a waiver to the federal No Child Left Behind education law. Washington Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn says the state will ask to set its own standards for student achievement. From KUOW in Seattle, Ann Dornfeld reports. Thu, 16 Feb 2012 14:39:45 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3248 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Requests No Child Left Behind Waiver Seattle Students Racking Up Cafeteria Debt http://nwpr.org/post/seattle-students-racking-cafeteria-debt <p>SEATTLE, Wash. - Many school districts are switching to electronic payment systems in their cafeterias. Parents can fund their kids&rsquo; accounts online, and even see what their kids are buying for lunch. But kids can also charge food when there&rsquo;s no money in their accounts. Now Seattle Public Schools is trying to collect $12,000 in unpaid lunchroom debt. From KUOW in Seattle, Ann Dornfeld reports. Mon, 13 Feb 2012 14:31:34 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3036 at http://nwpr.org Seattle Students Racking Up Cafeteria Debt