Anastasia Tsioulcas http://nwpr.org en How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game http://nwpr.org/post/how-3-tenors-sang-hits-and-changed-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcGoY4COi-I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNQeKvVPPlc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXQGyYy-oZI</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:13:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 49115 at http://nwpr.org How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://nwpr.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 48074 at http://nwpr.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts http://nwpr.org/post/rhythm-has-waltzed-away-hearts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ek3eCbfqp0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEfp_ZeiT0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YZpng2PL34</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjnhGwxQkFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GWaNt9pPQM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZD_ZzubDxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_X9Plz0zc4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k1RjZ-SOLU</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 12:38:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 47945 at http://nwpr.org A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://nwpr.org/post/rafael-fruhbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 00:28:26 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 47396 at http://nwpr.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://nwpr.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 14:29:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 46965 at http://nwpr.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech http://nwpr.org/post/read-joyce-didonatos-inspiring-juilliard-commencement-speech Star mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16004057/joyce-didonato" target="_blank">Joyce DiDonato</a> gave the 2014 commencement address at Juilliard Friday — and it's a memorable one, both for her words and by DiDonato's own example as someone whose own career began under low heat.<p>DiDonato has <a href="http://www.joycedidonato.com/2014/05/27/the-juilliard-schools-109th-commencement-speech-joyce-didonato/" target="_blank">posted</a> the text of her speech on her own website, and it's well worth 10 minutes of your time, whether you're an aspiring artist or need a gentle reminder Wed, 28 May 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 46679 at http://nwpr.org Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://nwpr.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 13:23:54 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 46258 at http://nwpr.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women Watch Bang On A Can Occupy 'Arthur' http://nwpr.org/post/watch-bang-can-occupy-arthur <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RXQnML0JwY</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 21:56:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45851 at http://nwpr.org Watch Bang On A Can Occupy 'Arthur' Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://nwpr.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 01:04:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45565 at http://nwpr.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted http://nwpr.org/post/classical-quartet-gets-all-twisted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 44714 at http://nwpr.org Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted