Ruby de Luna http://nwpr.org en Washington Health Exchange Is Making Progress As New Deadline Approaches http://nwpr.org/post/washington-health-exchange-making-progress-new-deadline-approaches <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The holiday frenzy isn’t the only deadline looming. For people who expect to have health coverage when the new year starts, the deadline to enroll for a health plan is December </span>23rd<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. But signing up through the state’s health exchange has been rough for the last several days. As of Tuesday morning, the site is back up and running.</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 14:28:16 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38539 at http://nwpr.org Tax Credit Error Uncovered in WA Health Exchange http://nwpr.org/post/tax-credit-error-uncovered-wa-health-exchange <p>This week the state discovered an error that could mean some people would be paying more in premiums.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 26 Oct 2013 00:36:03 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36322 at http://nwpr.org ACA's Early Enrollees http://nwpr.org/post/acas-early-enrollees <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington&rsquo;s health exchange got off to a bumpy start on its first day Tuesday. The website was temporarily shut down all morning. People who tried to access the website experienced slowdowns and technical problems. But there were some people who managed avoid the glitches and sign up for health coverage.</span></p><p> Wed, 02 Oct 2013 14:14:55 +0000 Ruby de Luna 35101 at http://nwpr.org Washington Exemption For Faith-based Employers Challenged http://nwpr.org/post/washington-exemption-faith-based-employers-challenged <p>The Washington State Supreme Court Thursday heard arguments in a case that could decide whether faith-based employers have some exemption from the state’s anti-discrimination law.</p><p> Fri, 10 May 2013 01:22:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27273 at http://nwpr.org States Making Progress On Health Exchange http://nwpr.org/post/states-making-progress-health-exchange <p></p><p>It’s official. Washington has reached a milestone in creating its own health exchange. Monday, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services announced Washington is among six states to make significant progress in developing an online market for health plans. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 00:57:23 +0000 Ruby de Luna 19601 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Moves Forward With Health Exchange, But How To Pay For It? http://nwpr.org/post/wash-moves-forward-health-exchange-how-pay-it <p></p><p>Next fall, Washington’s health exchange is expected to be up and running. The exchange is an online market for health plans. Right now the Health Exchange Board is trying to figure out how to pay for itself. On Friday, the Board is considering different options. Fri, 16 Nov 2012 01:37:33 +0000 Ruby de Luna 18450 at http://nwpr.org Wash. Moves Forward With Health Exchange, But How To Pay For It? Del Bene Wins WA First Congressional District http://nwpr.org/post/del-bene-wins-wa-first-congressional-district-0 <p>Democrat Suzan Del Bene has won. She beat Republican John Koster in the congressional race for the newly drawn first district. Election returns show Del Bene ahead in three of the four counties.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 15:24:51 +0000 Ruby de Luna 17986 at http://nwpr.org Del Bene Wins WA First Congressional District http://nwpr.org/post/del-bene-wins-wa-first-congressional-district <p></p><p>Democrat Suzan Del Bene has won. She beat Republican John Koster in the congressional race for the newly drawn first district. Election returns show Del Bene ahead in three of the four counties. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 15:15:12 +0000 Ruby de Luna 17984 at http://nwpr.org Washington State To Cover Autism Therapy For Medicaid Kids http://nwpr.org/post/washington-state-cover-autism-therapy-medicaid-kids <p>Low income parents will soon have a way to get treatment for their children with autism. Starting in January, Washington state will cover applied behavior analysis therapy for kids with Medicaid coverage. The new benefit is part of a legal settlement between the state, and a local advocacy group for children with autism. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 00:51:41 +0000 Ruby de Luna 17648 at http://nwpr.org CDC Recommends Pertussis Vaccine For Expectant Moms http://nwpr.org/post/cdc-recommends-pertussis-vaccine-expectant-moms <p>Public health experts are now recommending that pregnant women get the vaccine for whooping cough during pregnancy. The recommendation is in response to the growing outbreak of the disease in the U.S. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 00:05:20 +0000 Ruby de Luna 17284 at http://nwpr.org CDC Recommends Pertussis Vaccine For Expectant Moms