Kristian Foden-Vencil http://nwpr.org en Oregon Contracts With First Data To Examine Cover Oregon Roll-Out http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-contracts-first-data-examine-cover-oregon-roll-out <p></p><p></p><p>Governor John Kitzhaber says the state signed a contract Thursday, with a company for an independent assessment of the problems with Oregon's health insurance exchange website.</p><p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 00:49:30 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 39821 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Unemployment Drops To 8.2 Percent http://nwpr.org/post/oregons-unemployment-drops-82-percent <p>Oregon's seasonally adjusted unemployment rate continues its slow decline. It reached 8.2 percent in March.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 00:24:03 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 26024 at http://nwpr.org Runner Mourns Losses At Marathon http://nwpr.org/post/runner-mourns-losses-marathon <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An estimated 300 Oregonians were registered to run the Boston Marathon Monday.</span></p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 23:40:25 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 25932 at http://nwpr.org Portland Man Finishes Boston Marathon, Hears Explosion http://nwpr.org/post/portland-man-finishes-boston-marathon-hears-explosion <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">When explosions rocked the Boston Marathon route today Monday hundreds of Oregonians were in the city for the race.&nbsp; More than 300 people from Oregon were registered for the marathon, and Nike and Adidas both had staffs there.</span></p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 23:21:05 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 25930 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Officials Ask If Washed-Ashore Wood Could Come From Japanese Arch http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-officials-ask-if-washed-ashore-wood-could-come-japanese-arch <p></p><p style="border: 0px; margin-bottom: 20px; padding: 0px; line-height: 1.5em; font-family: Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', serif; color: rgb(34, 34, 34);">Oregon authorities have contacted the Japanese Consulate in Portland to find out whether a piece of presumed tsunami debris that washed up at Oceanside on Friday is culturally significant.</p><p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 23:53:58 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 24836 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Officials Ask If Washed-Ashore Wood Could Come From Japanese Arch Oregon's Minimum Wage Law Goes Before Senate Panel http://nwpr.org/post/oregons-minimum-wage-law-goes-senate-panel <p></p><p style="border: 0px; margin-bottom: 20px; padding: 0px; line-height: 1.5em; font-family: Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', serif; color: rgb(34, 34, 34);">Oregon's voter approved effort to link the minimum wage to the Consumer Price Index was the topic of debate at a Capitol Hill hearing Thursday.</p><p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 23:53:25 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 24321 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Minimum Wage Law Goes Before Senate Panel Portland Terrorism Suspect Released To Await Trial http://nwpr.org/post/portland-terrorism-suspect-released-await-trial <p>The Portland city employee who was charged this week with aiding terrorism has been released to await his trial. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 01:52:16 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 23938 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Unemployment Rate Stable http://nwpr.org/post/oregons-unemployment-rate-stable <p></p><p>Oregon's seasonally adjusted unemployment rate for January was 8.4 percent -- essentially unchanged from 8.3 percent in December. Ever since Oregon's unemployment rate peaked at over 11 percent in 2009, it's been dropping, but slowly. Wed, 06 Mar 2013 00:10:05 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 23791 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Seen As Health Care Model For Other States http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-seen-health-care-model-other-states <p></p><p>Governor John Kitzhaber says the feds are calling Oregon's health system a model for other states. Money goes along with that. Sat, 23 Feb 2013 00:45:28 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 23217 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Seen As Health Care Model For Other States Oracle Says 130 Jobs Coming To Oregon http://nwpr.org/post/oracle-says-130-jobs-coming-oregon <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The server giant, Oracle, announced Monday that it will shift 130 jobs from Mexico to Oregon - and retain other jobs here that might have been headed south.</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 00:58:46 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 23009 at http://nwpr.org