John Ryan http://nwpr.org en Despite Vow, Washington Lands Chief Takes Timber Money http://nwpr.org/post/despite-vow-washington-lands-chief-takes-timber-money <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Fundraising for this November's elections is kicking into high gear. That means candidates are </span>cozying<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> up to people with money. Sometimes, elected officials even get friendly with the companies they regulate.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 13:14:00 +0000 John Ryan 44453 at http://nwpr.org Despite Vow, Washington Lands Chief Takes Timber Money Inslee Seeks More Federal Disaster Aid http://nwpr.org/post/inslee-seeks-more-federal-disaster-aid <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For the second day in a row, Washington Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has asked the federal government to boost its disaster assistance to victims of the </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> landslide.</span></p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 14:32:34 +0000 John Ryan 43751 at http://nwpr.org Oso: Clearcut Extended Into No-Logging Zone http://nwpr.org/post/oso-clearcut-extended-no-logging-zone <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State officials say they didn't approve </span>clearcutting<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> inside a no-logging zone directly above Saturday's deadly landslide in the town of </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;But aerial photos show a </span>clearcut<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> extending into the zone where a loss of trees would heighten the risk of landslides.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:44:52 +0000 John Ryan 43512 at http://nwpr.org Oso: Clearcut Extended Into No-Logging Zone Snohomish Jail Overcrowded, Understaffed http://nwpr.org/post/snohomish-jail-overcrowded-understaffed <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new federal report says overcrowding and </span>understaffing<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> puts the health of Snohomish County Jail inmates at risk. The report comes after eight deaths at the jail in the past three years.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 15:53:14 +0000 John Ryan 36882 at http://nwpr.org To Reduce Patient Falls, Hospitals Try Alarms, More Nurses http://nwpr.org/post/reduce-patient-falls-hospitals-try-alarms-more-nurses A bad fall in the hospital can turn a short visit into a long stay.<p>Such falls featured in congressional discussions about patient safety, and in a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/09/20/224507654/how-many-die-from-medical-mistakes-in-u-s-hospitals">new study</a> in the <em>Journal of Patient Safety </em>about medical errors. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 21:25:00 +0000 John Ryan 35814 at http://nwpr.org To Reduce Patient Falls, Hospitals Try Alarms, More Nurses Mass Starfish Die-Off Hits Vancouver, May Happen in Washington http://nwpr.org/post/mass-starfish-die-hits-vancouver-may-happen-washington <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Scientists in two nations are on the lookout for a rapidly spreading epidemic. This epidemic is under water, and it&rsquo;s affecting starfish.</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 12:56:15 +0000 John Ryan 35675 at http://nwpr.org Mass Starfish Die-Off Hits Vancouver, May Happen in Washington Violence A 'Contant Disruption' At State's Mental Hospitals http://nwpr.org/post/violence-contant-disruption-states-mental-hospitals <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new report says violence is a &ldquo;constant disruption&rdquo; at Washington state&rsquo;s two main psychiatric hospitals. But the CEO of the state&rsquo;s biggest mental hospital isn&#39;t sold on some of the findings.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 13:53:13 +0000 John Ryan 35567 at http://nwpr.org Violence A 'Contant Disruption' At State's Mental Hospitals Washington Billionaires Staying Out Of State Politics This Year http://nwpr.org/post/washington-billionaires-staying-out-state-politics-year <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Nine men and one woman from Washington state have made Forbes magazine’s latest list of American billionaires. The group of ten had an oversized influence on Washington state politics last year. But so far this year, they’re mostly sitting on the sidelines.</span></p><p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 13:26:45 +0000 John Ryan 34631 at http://nwpr.org Gov. Inslee - Special Session On Transportation Needed http://nwpr.org/post/gov-inslee-special-session-transportation-needed <p></p><p>Governor Jay Inslee said on Tuesday he wants to call a special session of the state legislature this fall. But he stopped short of actually doing so.</p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 13:26:41 +0000 John Ryan 33617 at http://nwpr.org Gov. Inslee - Special Session On Transportation Needed GMO Labeling Backers Outspending Foes In Washington State http://nwpr.org/post/gmo-labeling-backers-outspending-foes-washington-state <p></p><p>Backers of a Washington state ballot initiative to require labels on genetically modified foods have raised four times more cash than their opponents. Both sides’ contributions have mostly come from outside Washington state.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 13:41:40 +0000 John Ryan 32821 at http://nwpr.org GMO Labeling Backers Outspending Foes In Washington State