April Baer http://nwpr.org en Hundreds Protest Vancouver Oil Terminal http://nwpr.org/post/hundreds-protest-vancouver-oil-terminal <p>Hundreds of people came to Vancouver's waterfront Saturday for a sun-baked demonstration against the fossil fuel industry, and its projects in the Northwest. April Baer reports.</p><p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 14:01:39 +0000 April Baer 31692 at http://nwpr.org Hundreds Protest Vancouver Oil Terminal Oregon Congressmen Want Hearings On Timber Counties http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-congressmen-want-hearings-timber-counties <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Three Oregon congressmen have asked Sen. Ron Wyden to hold hearings about the financial problems faced by southern Oregon counties.</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 02:26:44 +0000 April Baer 22733 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Congressmen Want Hearings On Timber Counties Summit On Gun Violence Focuses On Preparation http://nwpr.org/post/summit-gun-violence-focuses-preparation <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sheriffs, prosecutors, social service providers and others attended a&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">summit on gun violence Wednesday, convened by U.S.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Attorney Amanda Marshall. The sessions focused on mental health, the&nbsp;legal tools for &nbsp;disarming dangerous people and other public safety topics.</span></p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 00:30:26 +0000 April Baer 22730 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Jury Alternate Says Verdict No Surprise http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-jury-alternate-says-verdict-no-surprise <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With sentencing ahead for the man convicted of Portland's holiday tree-lighting bomb plot, those who watched the trial are processing its outcome. One alternate juror says she was not surprised at the verdict.</span></p><p> Sat, 02 Feb 2013 01:05:00 +0000 April Baer 22115 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Jury Alternate Says Verdict No Surprise Defense Rests In Oregon Bomb Plot http://nwpr.org/post/defense-rests-oregon-bomb-plot <p>All that remains is closing statements in the trial of Mohamed Mohamud (mo-hah-MOOD). Jurors will soon decide whether the 21-year-old defendant was responsible for the bogus plot intended to kill thousands at Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square, or whether the FBI lured him into it. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports.<br>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 02:40:51 +0000 April Baer 21928 at http://nwpr.org Mohamed Mohamud's Father Takes The Stand http://nwpr.org/post/mohamed-mohamuds-father-takes-stand Prosecutors rested their case against 21-year-old Mohamed Mohamud, a young man raised in Beaverton who stands accused of trying to use a weapon of mass destruction. From Oregon Public Broadcasting, April Baer reports.  </p> <br />U.S. Attorneys' closing witness was Even Kohlmann, a consultant who analyzes messages and media from jihidist websites, and keeps a database of those findings. </p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 00:26:00 +0000 April Baer 21863 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: Botched Recording Takes Center Stage In Court http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-trial-botched-recording-takes-center-stage-court <p></p><p>A botched recording took center stage Friday morning at the trial of an Oregonian accused of a 2010 bomb plot. An FBI agent testified why a key face-to-face encounter was not recorded. Sat, 26 Jan 2013 00:21:34 +0000 April Baer 21759 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: Botched Recording Takes Center Stage In Court Mohamud Trial: FBI Agents Detail Involvement In Alleged Bomb Plot http://nwpr.org/post/mohamud-trial-fbi-agents-detail-involvement-alleged-bomb-plot <p></p><p>Morning testimony in the trial of Mohamed Mohamud focused on some FBI agents involved in the case. Undercover agents worked with Mohamud on a plan to bomb Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square two years ago. The government says that while the device wasn't real, the threat posed by the defendant was. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 00:20:50 +0000 April Baer & April Baer 21638 at http://nwpr.org Mohamud Trial: FBI Agents Detail Involvement In Alleged Bomb Plot FBI Employee Believed Mohamud Was Ready For Suicide Attack http://nwpr.org/post/fbi-employee-believed-mohamud-was-ready-suicide-attack <p></p><p>Tuesday prosecutors played video clips of undercover operatives working with Mohamed Mohamud. He's on trial for a plot to detonate a bomb in Portland's Pioneer Courthouse Square two years ago. The entire operation was an FBI sting. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 00:00:28 +0000 April Baer 21237 at http://nwpr.org FBI Employee Believed Mohamud Was Ready For Suicide Attack Victims, Suspect Identified In Oregon Mall Shooting http://nwpr.org/post/victims-suspect-identified-oregon-mall-shooting <p>The Clackamas County Sheriff's department has identified victims of Tuesday's shooting at Clackamas Town Center mall.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:33:39 +0000 April Baer 19708 at http://nwpr.org Victims, Suspect Identified In Oregon Mall Shooting