Rachael McDonald http://nwpr.org en Conservation Groups And Oregon Settle Timber Lawsuit http://nwpr.org/post/conservation-groups-and-oregon-settle-timber-lawsuit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Oregon Department of Forestry has reached a settlement with conservation groups that had sued to prevent logging in forests that are home to a threatened seabird. The agreement was filed Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Eugene and still must be approved by a judge.</span></p><p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 00:13:50 +0000 Rachael McDonald 41022 at http://nwpr.org Conservation Groups And Oregon Settle Timber Lawsuit Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-court-appeals-hears-climate-suit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two young Eugene women had their day in court Thursday in a lawsuit asking the state of Oregon to do more to prevent climate change. A three judge panel of the Oregon Court of Appeals heard arguments at the University of Oregon Law School in Eugene.</span></p><p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 00:11:42 +0000 Rachael McDonald 40119 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Court of Appeals Hears Climate Suit Dalai Lama Delivers Message of Compassion http://nwpr.org/post/dalai-lama-delivers-message-compassion <p>An estimated 11 thousand people heard Tibetan Spiritual leader, His Holiness the Dalai Lama, speak at the University of Oregon's Matthew Knight Arena Friday. His message: peace and compassion. KLCC's Rachael McDonald reports.</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 14:33:38 +0000 Rachael McDonald 27418 at http://nwpr.org Dalai Lama Delivers Message of Compassion Coos Bay Engages Law Firm To Deal With Cross Challenge http://nwpr.org/post/coos-bay-engages-law-firm-deal-cross-challenge-0 <p><span style="font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: normal;">Coos Bay is facing a challenge on the constitutionality of a cross in a city park. &nbsp;It's getting help from a Texas-based organization that fights for public religious displays.</span> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 23:10:48 +0000 Rachael McDonald 25334 at http://nwpr.org Public Safety Levy Will Be On May Ballot In Lane County http://nwpr.org/post/public-safety-levy-will-be-may-ballot-lane-county <p></p><p>Lane County residents will vote this May on a property tax measure to fund jail beds. The Board of Commissioners Tuesday decided to put a five year public safety levy on the ballot. It was a 4 to 1 vote. Wed, 13 Feb 2013 00:35:08 +0000 Rachael McDonald 22666 at http://nwpr.org Public Safety Levy Will Be On May Ballot In Lane County Oregon Sheriffs Object To Gun Control Measures http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-sheriffs-object-gun-control-measures <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Douglas County Sheriff John Hanlin has joined several other Oregon sheriffs in sending a letter to Vice President Joe Biden. He and sheriffs from Grant, Linn and Crook Counties oppose potential federal laws that could affect law-abiding gun owners.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 00:58:50 +0000 Rachael McDonald 21362 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Lane County Faces Continued Dismantling Of Public Safety http://nwpr.org/post/oregons-lane-county-faces-continued-dismantling-public-safety <p></p><p>The Lane County Sheriff expects to have to cut more jail beds next year and the year after that. In two years, the county may have only 26 beds for local offenders and no sheriff's patrols. With the current 135 local beds, offenders are being released from the jail after serving only hours. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 00:41:32 +0000 Rachael McDonald 21012 at http://nwpr.org Oregon's Lane County Faces Continued Dismantling Of Public Safety Judge Halts Logging In Oregon State Forests http://nwpr.org/post/judge-halts-logging-oregon-state-forests <p></p><p>A federal judge has granted a preliminary injunction halting 11 timber sales in Oregon’s state forests. The state is being sued by three conservation groups who say the logging projects imperil a federally protected seabird. Wed, 28 Nov 2012 00:49:55 +0000 Rachael McDonald 18988 at http://nwpr.org Judge Halts Logging In Oregon State Forests Commissioners Postpone Coal Vote http://nwpr.org/post/commissioners-postpone-coal-vote <p>The Lane County Board of Commissioners decided not to vote yet on a resolution supporting a proposed coal export terminal in Coos Bay. Still, the board took public comment on the resolution from about two dozen people at their meeting Wednesday. Wed, 17 Oct 2012 23:37:29 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16922 at http://nwpr.org Commissioners Postpone Coal Vote Teen Climate Lawsuit Goes To Oregon Court Of Appeals http://nwpr.org/post/teen-climate-lawsuit-goes-oregon-court-appeals <p>The Oregon Court of Appeals has agreed to hear a climate change lawsuit brought by two teens from Eugene. </p> <p>One of the two plaintiffs, 16-year old Kelsey Juliana, is featured in a recent short film-- </p> <p> Kelsey Juliana: "Climate change is affecting Oregon because we're seeing droughts, we're seeing warmer temperatures and also we're seeing more fires."</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 00:05:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16548 at http://nwpr.org