Paige Browning http://nwpr.org en Comments On Coal Trains Brings Out Hundreds In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/comments-coal-trains-brings-out-hundreds-spokane <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">About 450 people turned out for the public hearing in Spokane last night on a proposed coal shipping facility in southwest Washington. It was the second of five statewide hearings hosted by the state Department of Ecology, Army Corps of Engineers, and </span>Cowlitz<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> County.</span></p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 13:36:47 +0000 Paige Browning 34848 at http://nwpr.org Police Finish Arrests, Bail Set For First Suspect In Vet Killing http://nwpr.org/post/police-finish-arrests-bail-set-first-suspect-vet-killing <p></p><p>A judge in Spokane has set a steep bail for the first of two 16-year-old males charged with 1st degree robbery and 1st degree murder. Both males are accused of robbing and beating to death 88-year old Delbert Belton, a World War II veteran.</p><p> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 13:47:08 +0000 Paige Browning 33197 at http://nwpr.org Unregulated Police Surveillance Catches Crime In Spokane http://nwpr.org/post/unregulated-police-surveillance-catches-crime-spokane <p></p><p>Regulating government surveillance in Spokane took the spotlight in Monday’s city council meeting. But the newest, flashiest police equipment is being ignored under city regulations.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 13:10:52 +0000 Paige Browning 32819 at http://nwpr.org Unregulated Police Surveillance Catches Crime In Spokane Coeur d'Alene Makes Waves With Gay, Lesbian Ordinance http://nwpr.org/post/coeur-dalene-makes-waves-gay-lesbian-ordinance <p>The reaction is split in Coeur d’Alene after the city council passed an ordinance banning gay and lesbian discrimination Tuesday night.</p><p>Paige Browning reports.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 14:03:24 +0000 Paige Browning 28832 at http://nwpr.org Sasquatch Fest Leaves Footprint In Rural Washington http://nwpr.org/post/sasquatch-fest-leaves-footprint-rural-washington <p>Today/Friday through Monday is the 12th year of the Sasquatch Music Festival at the Gorge Amphitheater, where more than 20-thousand people will camp and see live music. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 15:31:38 +0000 Paige Browning 28095 at http://nwpr.org Spokane Man Arrested, Pleads Not Guilty To Mailing Ricin http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-man-arrested-pleads-not-guilty-mailing-ricin <p>Wednesday FBI officials in Spokane arrested a man for connection with mailing a poisonous letter to a government building. Spokane Public Radio’s Paige Browning reports.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 23 May 2013 14:05:27 +0000 Paige Browning 28011 at http://nwpr.org Spokane Man Arrested, Pleads Not Guilty To Mailing Ricin Law Enforcement Ready for Spokane's Bloomsday http://nwpr.org/post/law-enforcement-ready-spokanes-bloomsday <p>Law enforcement officials say they have increased the level of security for this year’s Bloomsday race in Spokane. More than 50,000 people participate in the 12-K run. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Wed, 01 May 2013 14:04:53 +0000 Paige Browning 26791 at http://nwpr.org Washingtonians Disappointed By Negative Political Ads http://nwpr.org/post/washingtonians-disappointed-negative-political-ads <p>Washington voters find it hard to determine if political campaign ads are accurate, according to a survey by the AARP of Washington. Paige Browning reports, the organization hosted an event in Spokane Thursday to share the results and educate their members. Mon, 11 Jun 2012 13:52:51 +0000 Paige Browning 9795 at http://nwpr.org Spokane City Council Approves Zehm Death Settlement http://nwpr.org/post/spokane-city-council-approves-zehm-death-settlement <p>The Spokane City Council Monday night voted unanimously to approve a $1.67 million settlement between Otto Zehm&rsquo;s family and the city. Paige Browning reports.</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 14:28:15 +0000 Paige Browning 8792 at http://nwpr.org Fire Outlook Just A Flicker In Northwest http://nwpr.org/post/fire-outlook-just-flicker-northwest <p>Agriculture officials say fire season looks mild this year for Washington and Idaho, but that doesn&rsquo;t mean they&rsquo;re taking a backseat on preparedness. Fri, 18 May 2012 00:03:29 +0000 Paige Browning 8511 at http://nwpr.org Fire Outlook Just A Flicker In Northwest