Rob Manning http://nwpr.org en Oregon Teachers To Face Exit Exams In Years To Come http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-teachers-face-exit-exams-years-come <p>This summer in Oregon, education leaders brought together teaching professors and school officials to improve teacher training. The June institute followed a national report, critical of training programs. And new teachers will soon be asked to pass a new standardized test. Think of it as a Common Core for teachers in training. Rob Manning has more. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:37:23 +0000 Rob Manning 48667 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Teachers To Face Exit Exams In Years To Come Schools Grapple With Linking Student Test Scores To Teacher Evaluations http://nwpr.org/post/schools-grapple-linking-student-test-scores-teacher-evaluations <p>It's summer vacation for students - and teachers - across the country. Administrators often use the summer to take a bigger look at how schools are doing, and that can mean a critical look at teachers. Oregon Public Broadcasting's Rob Manning looks at evaluations for current teachers - and the role of student test scores in those evaluations. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:11:51 +0000 Rob Manning 48342 at http://nwpr.org Schools Grapple With Linking Student Test Scores To Teacher Evaluations From Shop Class To Shipyard: Oregon's Plan For Industrial Interns http://nwpr.org/post/shop-class-shipyard-oregons-plan-industrial-interns Transcript <p>ARI SHAPIRO, HOST: <p>President Obama often talks about making sure American students graduate high school ready for college. But one program in Oregon is reaching out to the shop class crowd of students who would rather learn a paying trade right away than stay in a classroom. Manufacturers there are using a new internship program to recruit and train teenagers straight out of high school to be machinists, welders and painters. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 19:55:00 +0000 Rob Manning 38004 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Celebrates Power Plant Run On Commercial Food Waste http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-celebrates-power-plant-run-commercial-food-waste <p>Oregon&#39;s first utility-scale facility to turn commercial food waste to electricity is up and running in Junction City.</p><p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 23:36:27 +0000 Rob Manning 35822 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Celebrates Power Plant Run On Commercial Food Waste Education Leaders See Potential For "Adequate" School Funding, But Cuts Possible, Too http://nwpr.org/post/education-leaders-see-potential-adequate-school-funding-cuts-possible-too <p></p><p>The latest state budget plans released Monday in Salem are drawing mixed reviews from the education community. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 01:38:15 +0000 Rob Manning 23722 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Man Among Americans Dead In Algerian Hostage Standoff http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-man-among-americans-dead-algerian-hostage-standoff <p>An Oregonian is among the three Americans who died after militants took over a natural gas plant in Algeria, according to federal officials. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 00:11:16 +0000 Rob Manning 21580 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Man Among Americans Dead In Algerian Hostage Standoff BPA Deal With Alcoa Promises Job Security, Utility Savings http://nwpr.org/post/bpa-deal-alcoa-promises-job-security-utility-savings <p>Hundreds of jobs and millions of dollars in utility savings are the big benefits of a new power agreement announced Friday in Northwest Washington.</p><p> Sat, 08 Dec 2012 02:12:27 +0000 Rob Manning & Rob 19509 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Wins $20 Million In Federal Early Learning Funds http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-wins-20-million-federal-early-learning-funds <p>Oregon learned Thursday it’s getting more than $20 million from the federal government to improve preschool education.</p><p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 01:08:30 +0000 Rob Manning 19442 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Wins $20 Million In Federal Early Learning Funds Wright To Retire From BPA http://nwpr.org/post/wright-retire-bpa <p>The Bonneville Power Administration&rsquo;s long-serving chief is stepping down. Steve Wright was the acting BPA administrator in 2000, when the western U.S. was struggling with an energy crisis. He served as permanent head for a decade and now says he&rsquo;s retiring in January. Tue, 19 Jun 2012 22:55:17 +0000 Rob Manning 10289 at http://nwpr.org Wright To Retire From BPA Oregon Ag To Leave Office For Reed College Post http://nwpr.org/post/oregon-ag-leave-office-reed-college-post <p>Oregon Attorney General John Kroger has been selected as the next president of Reed College. That means the Democrat will step down early from running the Department of Justice. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 23:09:02 +0000 Rob Manning 7173 at http://nwpr.org Oregon Ag To Leave Office For Reed College Post