Morning Edition on NPR & Classical Music http://nwpr.org en J.K. Rowling Posts New Harry Potter Short Story http://nwpr.org/post/jk-rowling-posts-new-harry-potter-short-story Harry Potter is attending the Quidditch World Cup with his family, as well as Ron and Hermione. He is in his 30s, with "a couple of threads of silver" in his hair and a mysterious cut on his cheek. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 48723 at http://nwpr.org iPhone From Oklahoma Ends Up In Grain Shipment To Japan http://nwpr.org/post/iphone-oklahoma-ends-grain-shipment-japan A Japanese worker found the phone and tracked down the American owner. Farmer Kevin Whitney recovered the phone, which had pictures of his daughter's wedding on it. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:50:00 +0000 editor 48724 at http://nwpr.org Cleveland, A Democratic Stronghold, Wins GOP Convention http://nwpr.org/post/cleveland-democratic-stronghold-wins-gop-convention Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. We do not know which Republican will accept the nomination for president in 2016. We do know where.<p>MONTAGNE: Cleveland is celebrating that honor. Republicans chose it over Dallas.<p>INSKEEP: Maybe Cleveland just won because it's in the swing state of Ohio, but however it happened, the city takes it as a sign of a comeback. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 48721 at http://nwpr.org Afghan Civilians Suffer During Violent Year http://nwpr.org/post/afghan-civilians-suffer-during-violent-year There is renewed fighting in Kandahar as the outcome of the Afghan presidential election remains uncertain. And a new U.N. report says civilian casualties are up significantly from a year ago. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 48719 at http://nwpr.org Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://nwpr.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 48720 at http://nwpr.org Self-Described Optimist Taylor Swift On The Future Of Music http://nwpr.org/post/self-described-optimist-taylor-swift-future-music Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>We're going to profile the musician Sia in a moment. But first we have a little music economics courtesy of Taylor Swift. The pop superstar wrote an op-ed for The Wall Street Journal yesterday about the future of the music industry.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>She's optimistic, despite the industry's tumultuous business landscape. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:51:00 +0000 editor 48666 at http://nwpr.org London Netflix Office Searches For Qualified Couch Potato http://nwpr.org/post/london-netflix-office-searches-qualified-couch-potato Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. A new study of traffic congestion finds, in the U.S., Honolulu has the worst, followed by Los Angeles. In Europe, Londoners spend more than 83 hours a year in traffic.<p>But one lucky person could cut that down dramatically. The London Netflix office is hiring a tagger - someone to watch Netflix titles and categorize them as drama or cult sports movies - a job involving a commute to the couch. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:53:00 +0000 editor 48657 at http://nwpr.org Buddhist Monks Face Jail Time For July 4 Fireworks Display http://nwpr.org/post/buddhist-monks-face-jail-time-july-4-fireworks-display Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with continuing coverage of last week's fireworks. Albuquerque authorities discovered an unauthorized fireworks show. The city had imposed restrictions because of fire danger. The perpetrators at least have the best excuse ever. The show was at a Buddhist temple. Buddhist monks say they didn't know of the fireworks ban since they do not watch TV, listen to the radio or read the news. They still face possible fines or jail. Ignorance is not innocence. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:35:00 +0000 editor 48658 at http://nwpr.org Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://nwpr.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 48649 at http://nwpr.org First Trial Begins For A Friend Of Marathon Bombing Suspect http://nwpr.org/post/first-trial-begins-friend-marathon-bombing-suspect Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The first trial connected to the Boston Marathon bombing is underway. The defendant is not the surviving suspected bomber, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev. It's Tsarnaev's friend - a 20-year-old from Kazakhstan who is accused of obstruction of justice. NPR's Tovia Smith reports.<p>TOVIA SMITH, BYLINE: As prosecutors tell it, Azamat Tazhayakov and his roommates saw photos of the alleged bombers and immediately recognized them. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Tovia Smith 48650 at http://nwpr.org