Aaron Kunz http://nwpr.org en Idaho Voters To Decide Right To Hunt Amendment http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-voters-decide-right-hunt-amendment <p>Voters in Idaho will be asked next month to make some additions to the state constitution. House Joint Resolution 2 is less than two pages long and adds hunting, fishing and trapping to Idaho’s Constitution. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 00:20:55 +0000 Aaron Kunz 17285 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Voters To Decide Right To Hunt Amendment Idaho Miner Says He's Not Intersted In Salmon River http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-miner-says-hes-not-intersted-salmon-river <p>A gold miner who got the go-ahead to dredge a half mile section of the Salmon River in Idaho may be calling it quits. Mon, 22 Oct 2012 13:34:26 +0000 Aaron Kunz 17117 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Miner Says He's Not Intersted In Salmon River Idaho Town Struggles With Clean Water Act Requirements http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-town-struggles-clean-water-act-requirements <p>40 years ago Thursday, Congress passed the Clean Water Act to reduce pollution in America’s waterways. Even four decades later, hundreds of towns across the Northwest are failing to meet clean water standards for their wastewater treatment plants. For most, that means costly upgrades and higher fees for households and businesses. The southern Idaho town of Burley is no exception. EarthFix reporter Aaron Kunz explains. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 13:37:20 +0000 Aaron Kunz 16945 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Town Struggles With Clean Water Act Requirements "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency http://nwpr.org/post/are-you-fan-enough-campaign-promotes-energy-efficiency <p>An alliance of Northwest power utilities kicked off a campaign this month to curb energy use by college football fans. EarthFix Reporter Aaron Kunz has more. Thu, 11 Oct 2012 13:27:15 +0000 Aaron Kunz 16571 at http://nwpr.org "Are You Fan Enough" Campaign Promotes Energy Efficiency Idaho Begins Seismic Testing For Natural Gas http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-begins-seismic-testing-natural-gas <p>The Natural Gas Industry is shaking the earth in Idaho. It’s looking for the best places to start drilling. Mon, 01 Oct 2012 13:51:41 +0000 Aaron Kunz 16043 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Begins Seismic Testing For Natural Gas Federal Energy Commission Makes Statement on Wind Energy http://nwpr.org/post/federal-energy-commission-makes-statement-wind-energy <p>A federal energy regulator sided with wind energy producers in their dispute with Idaho Power. Earthfix Reporter Aaron Kunz explains. Fri, 21 Sep 2012 13:02:57 +0000 Aaron Kunz 15555 at http://nwpr.org Federal Energy Commission Makes Statement on Wind Energy Mining Gold In The Northwest Causes Conflict http://nwpr.org/post/mining-gold-northwest-causes-conflict <p>A recreational gold miner in Idaho now has the exclusive right to mine for gold on a stretch of the Salmon River. But the lease process approved by the Idaho Land Board this week raised some questions about the process he will use to get the gold. Aaron Kunz with EarthFix explains. Thu, 20 Sep 2012 13:08:15 +0000 Aaron Kunz 15493 at http://nwpr.org Mining Gold In The Northwest Causes Conflict Idaho Land Board Approves Mining Lease http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-land-board-approves-mining-lease <p>The Idaho Land Board signed off Tuesday on a lease that would allow a gold miner along the Salmon River to exclusively mine for gold. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 13:15:19 +0000 Aaron Kunz 15427 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Land Board Approves Mining Lease Idaho Wildlife Summit Considered A Success http://nwpr.org/post/idaho-wildlife-summit-considered-success <p>Idaho’s Fish and Game Department told stakeholders this weekend they are losing funding for valuable wildlife conservation programs. This weekend’s public summit was held to get some help from the people they serve. Earthfix reporter Aaron Kunz explains. Mon, 27 Aug 2012 13:47:14 +0000 Aaron Kunz 14153 at http://nwpr.org Idaho Wildlife Summit Considered A Success Sawtooth Salmon Festival Highlights Idaho's Protected Salmon http://nwpr.org/post/sawtooth-salmon-festival-highlights-idahos-protected-salmon <p>The annual Sawtooth Salmon Festival brought in many visitors to Stanley in central Idaho this weekend. That’s despite a nearby wildfire that’s brought in smoke to the area.</p><p>The festival coincides with the return of sockeye and chinook salmon to the Stanley area. So far 160 sockeye have arrived so far. That’s down from the hundreds that showed up last year.</p><p>Annie Morrison is an intern at Idaho Rivers United, which organized the event. She says festival goers got a chance to see salmon spawning.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 13:43:45 +0000 Aaron Kunz 14152 at http://nwpr.org Sawtooth Salmon Festival Highlights Idaho's Protected Salmon